Young Farmer’s Advisory Council Making Progress for Young Farmers

Young Farmer MAC members

No votes yet.
Please wait...

On Wednesday 13 March 2019, the Young Farmers Advisory Council met at the University of Melbourne for the first Young Farmer’s Advisory Council meeting of the year.

Minister for Agriculture Jaclyn Symes attended the meeting alongside the eight-member Council to gain greater insight into key the issues currently affecting young farmers, including mental health and the impact of dry seasonal conditions.

The Council members, who represent a wide range of industries, skills and expertise, discussed options for the improved provision of mental health support for young farmers and explored the specialised support needs of young farmers as a group.

The Council also discussed the progress that has been made against recommendations that were accepted by government in March 2018. Including the continuation of the Young Farmers Scholarship Program and the delivery of Young Farmers Business Bootcamps.

The Council consists of eight members who represent the various agricultural regions and industries across Victoria, and includes representatives from Victorian Young Farmers and Young Agribusiness Professionals. Members include Sarah Thompson (Chair) from Bona Vista, Sarah McLean from Purnim, Dustin Kemp from Rochester, Jennifer Zappia from Mildura, Thomas McGrath from Minyip, Alastair Tame from Strathbogie, Jess Pilgrim from Nhill (Victorian Young Farmers) and Pete Burgess from Drysdale (Young Agribusiness Professionals).

The Council provides a voice for young farmers directly to the Victorian Minister for Agriculture and Victorian Government. Young farmers are encouraged to get in touch with their local Council member to discuss issues impacting them.

Further Information

To contact the Council or to learn more about how the Victorian Government is supporting Victoria’s young farmers, click here

No votes yet.
Please wait...
Share this:

Leave a comment